PDA

View Full Version : 1996 Civic Coupe' "D16Y8 to a B16A"

kyle
05-11-2003, 11:09 AM
Hey guys

Im the owner of a 96' Civic Coupe' and I I simply want more power for as cheap as possible(As any driver would). I was just wondering is it worth doing this engine transplant or can I extract a fair amount of power from my D16Y8 without a turbo? Price is a bit of an issue, being 17(working at a supermarket) pretty much the only way i could ever possibly afford the transplant is if I could get a good price for my D16( emaculate condition ... What price could I sell my D16 for?).... Ive decided to look for these power upgrades as I could only just keep up with a 1.5 Litre Lancer... :( how embarrising :oops: ..... any information you guys could give me is greatly appreciated as im fairly new to this stuff.

Kyle

Weq
05-11-2003, 12:48 PM
What are u smoking, only just keep up with a 1.5l lancer? He musta been forced/transplanted atleast. The d16y8 is rated at 127hp, just a bit shy of 100kw. The lancer u played with is 30KW at the fly slower. That said, at a recent dyno day i went to with 2 different 1.8L lancers (exhaust/intake/headers) pulled up either side of my Stock d16y1 (same as ur y8 basically).
Lancer 1: 65kw
Me: 66kw
Lancer 2: 68kw

Transplant wise, look at the other threads for info on price. Just fyi, ur car is OBD2 and i'm sure u will need ECU/wiring loom//engine/gearbox from the b16a atleast to get the thing running. Modification wise, it should be an relitivly easy fit though.

In summation, all this with insurance costs added, u wont be able to afford a swapped Civic just yet.

VTi-RT
05-11-2003, 09:13 PM
Your best to buy a half cut of a VTi-R. You can't interchange parts between the two engines, so accessories will cost heaps. You'll have to save around $4-$5k in order to get a proper conversion.