PDA

View Full Version : CU2 - Lumpy Steering problem

binhcat
14-11-2008, 08:38 AM
I've been driving my new Euro for about a couple of months now and notice a slight problem with the steering. This occurs for me mainly when steering left.

Whenever steering left I feel torque steer when the wheel turns back to the centre position. I believe this happens when I go slow or fast around a corner. Happens at tight corners and round-a-bouts so steering less I still encounter this. The feeling is like when you drive with both of your wheels on the tram track.

I have occasionally felt it when steering right but very vague so that isn't my concern. Mainly left steering only.

Spoke to a friend who works at Honda HQ in Tullamarine and he said it was a known issue with a few euros. Good news is Honda Japna are working on away to fix this problem. The term the service guys used to described this problem was 'LUMPY STEERING' usually happens if something in the steering is too tight.

So I was unfortunately to buy a dud one.

Does anyone have the same problem?

MiSloVic
14-11-2008, 04:25 PM
'lumpy steering' was common in the old ES civic EPS as well.. usually happen at parking speeds, and when your are swirling the steering too quickly... thought Honda would have spend the last 6 years resolving this..

aaronng
14-11-2008, 04:35 PM
Could also be influenced by the left side driveshaft being shorter than the right side which has a middle shaft.

imo
15-11-2008, 02:13 PM
I had the same problem mate. For me it becomes apparent during high speed conering but seems to be lessening with time. I have 650 on the clock now and by the time I hit 1k I hope it will be gone. Feels like a tight steering box to me.

binhcat
16-11-2008, 10:34 AM
I had the same problem mate. For me it becomes apparent during high speed conering but seems to be lessening with time. I have 650 on the clock now and by the time I hit 1k I hope it will be gone. Feels like a tight steering box to me.