PDA

View Full Version : buying an unrego'd car

ben_acct
21-12-2008, 04:15 PM
Done the revs and RTA check and there's no finance or obligations on the cars.
I'm basically a newbie and haven't done this before

I need quick run down of what I need to do
Best ways to buy the car (money wise), do I need to get a receipt or mmm..? registration transfer at the RTA or something?

Since its unrego'd I understand i gotta get a bluey on it, renew rego and CTP/pink at the same time?

Is this all possible to do in a day? anything else i'm missing?

thanks

sammy342
21-12-2008, 04:25 PM
in vic to get a car transfer in your name you need a roadworthy i belive not 100% sure but to get a roadworthy hear it takes a min of 2 days but somtimes the mechanic writes two diffrent dates and gives it bak to you in one day

SHOGUNOVDDRK
21-12-2008, 04:28 PM
Ok, to buy teh car i would advise (if in Sydney):

Get a receipt from owner you are purchasing from.

Basically write up a contract even if you type it up on the computer, make 2 copies (1 each) and get each person to sign it.

So for example: I _____ am buying ______ from _____ for ______ and we agree on $XXX etc etc etc (get the idea?)

You need to get Blue slip first, then pink slip.

Then take both to a insurance company to get your CTP.

I doubt its possible in a day unless you know the right place/'s (Blue Slip = needing to have workshop check it out and that its 100% fine)

Good luck mate :wave:

ben_acct
21-12-2008, 04:39 PM
cheers for replies
yeah, purchase is in Sydney forgot to mention

when would i need to drop by rta to get the name transfer and reg? after blue and pink slips?

SHOGUNOVDDRK
21-12-2008, 04:41 PM
Ummm i would do it immediately

Have the receipt with you when you do it as proof you bought it and if possible the old owner aswell

Does it still have number plates?

ben_acct
21-12-2008, 09:18 PM
yep car still has its plates