PDA

View Full Version : HONDA HDS Software + HIM / GNA600 Adapter?

EuroSteve
22-12-2008, 12:11 PM
Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone out there has forked out the cash for the Honda HDS software + HIM or GNA600 OBD Adapter, and if so, whether it was worth it? I'm an electronics engineer by day and am keen to learn as much as I can about about the various systems in my Accord Euro. I'm somewhat mechanically capable and can usually service/repair just about anything that doesn't require a hoist, so when I browse through the Euro's workshop manual and see all those steps that require the Honda HDS, i'd really like to have the tools necessary to do those steps.

I actually already have a mate who has a copy of the HDS software, but without the HIM / GNA600 module, it's useless. Looking on eBay, the HIM is going for around US$500 and the GNA600 for around US$1000. I believe the GNA600 supersedes the HIM, but the HIM does everything on the Euro.

*ECU-MAN Edit ..................... no group buys allowed*

Cheers,
Steve

PS. I know the laws are changing in the US, but what's the go with non-Honda service agents/mechanics using the HDS in Australia?

thepope1986
22-12-2008, 04:46 PM
the regular non dealership mechanics are able to purchase devices by other companies such as bosch who make adapters and the like to fit a variety of cars but may not have all the functionality that the factory item has. and to be honest that sounds pretty cheap to buy. i woulda thought an electronics engineer would have the spare $$ to be able to buy something like that :P

EuroSteve
22-12-2008, 05:44 PM
the regular non dealership mechanics are able to purchase devices by other companies such as bosch who make adapters and the like to fit a variety of cars but may not have all the functionality that the factory item has. and to be honest that sounds pretty cheap to buy.