PDA

View Full Version : Where'd everyone gather their car knowledge from?

quangwoo
07-02-2009, 05:08 PM
I was just curious, where did everyone get their car knowledge from?

I'm guessing the majority was from this forum.

As I'm new to cars and modifying, I've been through all the stickys but, to me, I haven't really understood enough of the insides of an engine.

If you guys would give me links to threads where I could learn about the insides of a car, that'd be great, as I've already tried searching and have found nothing.

Thanks in advance.

ban
07-02-2009, 09:44 PM
www.carbibles.com

JasonGilholme
07-02-2009, 09:51 PM
google will be your friend for all of this. Along with a workshop manual, a good selection of tools and the time to work on your own car.

Read up on as much theory as possible before doing anything practicle and you'll get a good result from the work that you do.

DIY is one of the most rewarding things i've ever taken on. I've done all the work on my car, and i started out just like yourself. My car has never been to a dealer/workshop for any work. I reckon i've saved thousands of dollars and have learnt priceless information about my car.

quangwoo
07-02-2009, 10:46 PM
google will be your friend for all of this. Along with a workshop manual, a good selection of tools and the time to work on your own car.

Read up on as much theory as possible before doing anything practicle and you'll get a good result from the work that you do.

DIY is one of the most rewarding things i've ever taken on. I've done all the work on my car, and i started out just like yourself. My car has never been to a dealer/workshop for any work. I reckon i've saved thousands of dollars and have learnt priceless information about my car.

Wow thanks for sharing your experience with cars.

I always had an ambition to DIY my whole car :)

Thanks!

vinnY
07-02-2009, 11:56 PM
i learnt lots from having to fix broken things :(
oh and 'fixing' things that weren't really broken ;)