PDA

View Full Version : DIY request: HID install for EK1 96 civic CXI

NMD
06-03-2009, 11:04 PM
as the title states, ive recently bought an HID kit for my EK1 civic. tried fitting it up the day i got it in the mail and found that i had to replace the shades...eeeeeek!

if anyone has a guide to change to HID's that would be fantastic. even just some tips to change over would be greatly appreciated.

cheers
brendan

ps. im a 3rd yr mechanic apprentice, so im reasonable on the tools if that makes any difference.

turtle187
06-03-2009, 11:21 PM
give me a few days ill post my own DIY up for you
and what shades do u have to replace?
not sure bout wat ur talking about

NMD
09-03-2009, 10:08 AM
oh sweet thanks!

the shades that cover the original head light and reflect it back onto the rear of the light. you have to put in longer ones in my kit at least cause the HID bulb is a fair bit longer. me and my mate couldnt figure out how to change it without pulling the front bar and grill off.

but yeah im looking forward to your article
cheers
brendan

turtle187
09-03-2009, 10:13 AM
oh sweet thanks!

the shades that cover the original head light and reflect it back onto the rear of the light. you have to put in longer ones in my kit at least cause the HID bulb is a fair bit longer. me and my mate couldnt figure out how to change it without pulling the front bar and grill off.

but yeah im looking forward to your article
cheers
brendan

hey dude, the HID BULBS shouldnt be longer then your current shades on ur civic and yes you have to pull off your front bar and grill to take off the lights without any hassles

shouldnt be hard at all,
:thumbsup:

end7
31-03-2009, 08:31 PM
Are your bulb is H4 hi/low or H4 low? Pic of your HID bulb will be nice as i have no problem at all with the shades (my ride).

burner42
04-11-2009, 09:56 PM
i have a Hi/Lo kit from MuSecret, all i did was:

- clamp the bulb down first without the rubber seal