PDA

View Full Version : Civic maintenance

Steven12
14-05-2009, 10:14 PM
Hi guys, I have recently purchased a brand new honda civic VTI, couldn't be happier. :)

Anyway I was reading the manual and it was recommended that I buy Honda range of motor oil, transmission fluid, coolant, power steering oil etc to properly maintain the civic.

I just wana get some opinions on this, are people on this forum mostly use Honda's product or do they just get products off autoshops like Castrol etc. If so, are there specific 3rd party products made for Civic lines. (sorry I have very little knowledge of car and let alone maintenance).

thanks people

Fung
14-05-2009, 11:13 PM
well....they also say dont mod yer car..
and are you gonna mod it?

if you are gonna mod yer civic, then what the manual says would be BS
you can use their products, but that'll be doubling or triple the cost you get for a similar quality aftermarket product

Sherweeeny
15-05-2009, 01:19 AM
mate, you can really use anything. oil is oil, as long as its the correct type of oil, having a honda logo on the bottle of oil wont make a difference, as well as transmission fluid etc. may i ask why you ask these questions? if you dont know anything about maintaining cars etc, then surely you yourself wont be conducting the services... and if you got a cheaper shop to do it then that would be fine, so long as its not some really dodgy place which would void your warranty, otherwise just get honda to service it, they usually cost me below $200 a service, so its not as much a rip off as say Audi and BMW as when we get those serviced, they are around the $600 mark

shadou
15-05-2009, 01:53 AM
well....they also say dont mod yer car..
and are you gonna mod it?

if you are gonna mod yer civic, then what the manual says would be BS
you can use their products, but that'll be doubling or triple the cost you get for a similar quality aftermarket product