PDA

View Full Version : Anglo Frog/Jap Conversion

woznaldo
21-06-2009, 08:41 AM
Hi All,

I joined the forum quite a while ago now but, have been side tracked with other projects.

I own a Renault 5 GT Turbo that I imported from UK but, the engine is old. I want to look into boosting a Honda lump to drop in as there are lots of bits for these engines in the States and have proven results.

I'm looking at B16A as a starting point? My goal is to do some time attack/sprint/ tarmac rally events in the future so need the engine to be responsive but be capable of good power. 200kw would be more than enough.

Look forward to picking your collective brains in the near future.

Woz:wave:

kazam
21-06-2009, 08:01 PM
budget

SHOGUNOVDDRK
21-06-2009, 08:01 PM
Welcome to Ozhonda :)

Pictures are appreciated

kazam
21-06-2009, 08:03 PM
no they aren't

woznaldo
21-06-2009, 09:15 PM
At the risk of offending the Honda 'purists' I won't post any pictures just yet.

I'm an aircraft tech by trade and have access to a machine shop but was looking at doing this over a period of time i.e. a couple of years but, at a guess I would say $3-4K for a budget?

It would seem on initial research that most of the kit required for turbo conversion is cheaper from the States, even after the shipping. Correct me if I'm wrong?

kazam
21-06-2009, 09:48 PM
can't get a boosted b16a for 3-4 looking at 2-3 for the engine, and for200kw another 2-3 for the kit..

woznaldo
21-06-2009, 10:02 PM
Thanks for the info. So, with a budget of $5-6K is a reliable/responsive 200kw plausible?

Where do I get the kits from? web links appreciated.

Woz

SHOGUNOVDDRK
21-06-2009, 10:33 PM
To be honest research is the key and lots of it.

Its kind of like owning a older car that has little to no aftermarket support, you've gotta adapt to what is available and work from there (or work with what was available at the time)

I assume you've done a bit of homework which is good to see :) :thumbsup: