PDA

View Full Version : Recommend Battery Charger?

driver
07-07-2009, 07:40 PM
As the title says... I'm thinking of getting a battery charger for my Euro 2007.

Any particular brand/model to get or avoid? Is there a big difference between an expensive one and a cheap one? (I've never used or seen one before).

yfin
07-07-2009, 08:44 PM
there is a charger called Battery Fighter which is pretty good

xxb4xx
08-07-2009, 09:07 AM
if you can find any Arlec one, you're in with a winner.

can't go wrong.

Type R Positive
08-07-2009, 10:33 AM
All the cheap ones I have got before (k-mart arlec) have gone to heaven fairly quickly.
I got a EPS 8 amp one now, and it has lasted well. Cost just over $100 I think from memory.

Things to watch are the amp rating, the higher the rating, the quicker the charge.
You also want one that will automatically go to float when the battery is fully charged.

The new CTEK ones look the biz, but they are bloody expensive for anything with a decent amp rating.

HunterZero
08-07-2009, 01:21 PM
Does this look any good? Doesn't specifically say if it automatically switches from high amp charge to trickle charge when the battery is full.

Jaycar Charger (http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MB3522&keywords=car+battery+charger&form=KEYWORD)

- HZ

dtngo
08-07-2009, 04:47 PM
I used a mates charger (can't remember the brand) recently for my old car - there was a parasitic drain from the battery. The unit was around 15 years old and purchased from Kmart for $25 haha!

Repco have a few as well ranging from $75 to $150. Don't remember the brands though.

These things come in handy. I'll be watching the thread.

driver
08-07-2009, 07:22 PM
Thanks everyone. Keep them coming.

The new CTEK ones look the biz, but they are bloody expensive for anything with a decent amp rating.

A mate at work uses CTEK (not sure which model) and recommends it. He said what you said... "bloody expensive"! It has trickle (is that what you call it?) charge too.