PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade: GSI > Prelude/FTO

duckey
15-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Hey guys,

Just sold my GSI not long ago and am now looking to either get a prelude VTIR (5th gen) or FTO (GPX).

I don't know much about the two cars.

FTO:
+
Nice interior
Decent power

-
UGLY REAR

Lude:
+
Good power
Easy on the eyes

-
Quite a bit more expensive
Maintenance costs?

Feel free to give feedbacks on these two cars.

I know of a prelude for sale for $7.3K...but its not manual. I wanted a manual :( is this going to greatly affect performance? My mate said that auto defeats the purpose of having vtec. Im also thinking is $7.3K too cheap for a 5th gen vtir prelude. From the pics it looks clean and it turned up positive on REVS. I just dont want to waste my life driving that far to check out a car..I'm a full time uni student + working full time.

I'm in no rush...if I can't find a car I'll just open up a term deposit :)

Regards,

duck

RR-04-RR
15-07-2009, 05:02 PM
Prelude for sure!

I reckon FTO are really slow for a 6cyl 2.0L 9not too sure how they are modded

but if you're planning on just buying either them stock.. i'd buy a prelude

maintainance wise.. could always learn to do a simple minor service yourself

Tegzieboi_BAR
15-07-2009, 05:05 PM
dc2r...

but out of the 2 vti-r for sure... u'll b surprised bout how gutless the fto's r... i think any vtec in auto is pretty pointless... get manual, otherwise u may aswell get an si

ummmz
15-07-2009, 05:07 PM
+1 for the fto.
the exhaust note from the 6 is so much better than that of the prelude!
In my opinion, the fto also perceives a better image.

15-07-2009, 05:10 PM
FTO stay awwaaay...

hard to maintain, not much aftermarket parts
a biatch to fix
good luck finding spareparts once its starts to falling apart.

i can say this because my house mate had gpx fto 94 and a shit house.. and sold if off not worth it. its slower than dc2r lol.

heavy n chunky handles no way nears dc2r