PDA

View Full Version : Type R squeaky clutch

gitsumhnnnr
10-11-2004, 09:40 PM
Hi All,

Just bought myself an Integra Type R 2000 model. Went for a test drive tonight as you do and the clutch starting squeaking. I didn;t notice this during the test drive, either did the NRMA inspector.

Do you think it could be anything major or is there a quick fix I can do to resolve this?

Thanks

ECU-MAN
10-11-2004, 09:57 PM
most the time its the spring on the pedal mechanizm sometimes its the clutch master cylinder. you can lube up the sping area it may help. try a quick splash of crc, if it works it will only last a month or so till the crc dry's out

gitsumhnnnr
10-11-2004, 10:01 PM
Pardon my ignorance, what's CRC?

How do I get access to the spring area?

yes I am a total noob when it comes to DIY

ECU-MAN
10-11-2004, 10:15 PM
Pardon my ignorance, what's CRC?

How do I get access to the spring area?

yes I am a total noob when it comes to DIY

is this a trick question, im sure other states have CRC spray cans , like they dont have fritz in Sydney. :)

CRC is a lubricant in a can like RP7 you can buy it in hardware shops.

gitsumhnnnr
10-11-2004, 11:11 PM
Another Q - is it ok to keep driving with the squeaking sound? or should I get it fixed ASAP?

ECU-MAN
10-11-2004, 11:38 PM
I dont think its anything major. but have it looked at to be safe.

wynode
10-11-2004, 11:42 PM
Depends where the noise is coming from :)

The 'springy' bit is as in the diargram below:

luzinit
11-11-2004, 12:39 AM
I drove around with squeaky clutch for 1month, didnt have time/couldnt be bothered to get it checked out, over time it got firmer and firmer, didnt quite notice until i got it lubed up and working as to how it was.. difference was unbelievable, was like i had a HD clutch ! then back to soft OEM goodness! - so i dont think it will hurt, but do try and get it sussed out, cheers

BF
11-11-2004, 09:05 PM