PDA

View Full Version : Budget Upgrades For CD5

jford04
23-08-2009, 08:55 PM
Well I've decided to do some work to my CD5 (1993 VTi) as I drive it no more than twice a week.

I'm not an expert when it comes to which parts do what but so far this is what I've got in mind:

* Lowering - To increase handling, not to look 'woggy'
* Cold Air Intake - Increases low RPM Power?
* Microchip - Also to help with acceleration?
* Exhaust - just to give it a nice purr
* Front Lip & Rear Spoiler - Just for appearance (obviously)

Advice and Pricing on the above or anything else would be appreciated. I don't wish to spend more than $400 per mod (at this stage anyway).

I've also heard that you can tune V-tec to kick in at a lower RPM. is this true? If so advisable?

Thanks guys!

Mixtapes
24-08-2009, 02:22 PM
* Lowering - Koni Shocks + King Springs or Pedders or some 2nd hand coilovers i got a set of G4's for real cheap

* Cold Air Intake - Increases low RPM Power? i got a panel filter on it atm. havn't looked into cai. but i;v heard AEM with k&n pod or 3A racing ! my mate has 1 on his cd5 cost him $250 + filter.

* Exhaust - just to give it a nice purr, depends what exhaust mugen is always good. but abit pricey for what it is.

* Front Lip & Rear Spoiler - Just for appearance (obviously) Mugen Style front lip is $135 delivered from the US you can get other styles i got mine recently. Rear Spoiler was $140 when i checked it looked pretty good.

hope that helps ?

bennjamin
24-08-2009, 06:12 PM
please get a upgraded rear swaybar. Great modification.

tmy
24-08-2009, 09:30 PM
In regards to a vtec controller:

What is a Vtec Controller (http://www.hondahookup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6204)

Personally there not worth the money for a stock standard CD5.

jford04
25-08-2009, 07:23 PM
Thanks for the help, may I ask further information as to where to buy these parts from? This is the first car I'm getting work done to.
Cheers

Feverpitched
26-08-2009, 04:31 PM