PDA

View Full Version : noob looking for help

act_gooner
20-12-2009, 11:47 PM
Hey guys, sorry this is my first post and I really don't know much about the technical aspects of cars.

I have always loved Integra's and am hoping too buy one soon. Only problem is that I'm a poor Uni student but also want something half decent. Is there a great difference between late 90's vti-r's and gsi's? Would a gsi have a lot more grunt than a 1.8L Lancer MR (have to have a more powerful car than my sister haha)?

Thanks!

northerly
20-12-2009, 11:57 PM
vtir worth the difference 110%, different engine, much better than lancer.

act_gooner
21-12-2009, 12:11 AM
Is the gsi much better than the Lancer though?

WATAJK
21-12-2009, 12:29 AM
Is the gsi much better than the Lancer though?

i wouldn't say by alot more..

quangsuke
21-12-2009, 12:40 AM
would it really matter?

but to answer your question i think the gsi would run faster. just because its non vtec doesn't mean it doesn't go hard. the lancer MR is a good car though, its got some balls.

they both run 1.8L, but because of the integra shell it would have the extra grunt over the MR.

p.s. the driver counts aswell.

altong0840
21-12-2009, 01:47 AM
lancer, my mate called it is jetshit, it is not a bad dailyfor me but it is not a performance car, try the Vtec power and u will love it

act_gooner
21-12-2009, 10:00 AM
Thanks for everyone for the suggestions. Problem is I don't think I can afford a vtir anytime soon which is why I'm considering the gsi. Looked up its specs last night on redbook and the gsi still seems to have a fair bit more power than the Lancer MR. There are 2 Integra's I'm looking at on the net. One is a 98 vti-r 9 grand with 170,000 k's and the other is a 97 gsi also for 9 grand but only with 117,000 ks. I suspect I would be able to get the price for the gsi a lot lower than the vti-r aswell.

SHI-FTY
21-12-2009, 05:31 PM