PDA

View Full Version : EG Brake Upgrade Help

WA-EG
22-12-2009, 08:50 PM
Hey peoples,

As the title suggest I'm after a brake upgrade for my EG. Its a 92 EG GL with a B18C conversion, but to get it over the pits and legal I need to upgrade the brakes as it has drums on the rear.

Basically what I'm after is bang for buck.... I'm only new to Honda's so not really sure of models and parts.

Can somebody supply me with a part for part list of what I need to buy to change the brakes over?? From what I have read DC2 or EK seems to be the most common swap, but I have no idea what parts I need.

Any help you can give would be great.

ps: Have done search, but most answers just say swap with DC2 not what I need.....

kcokla
22-12-2009, 09:05 PM
For a combination of something cool and something that is practical to your needs, perhaps you can look into a 5 lug conversion( around 800-1200) which includes the entire arms hubs break lines etc etc etc - if you dont know what that is, itspretty much the breaks from a dc2r(same place where your engine is from)
i think thats a good upgrade where u can have 5 studded rims too!
however to answer your question better, i believe you can settle for ek4/or eg6 breaks(there the same).

markismaximus
22-12-2009, 09:14 PM
here some are for $800. Has ABS. Not sure if that will cause any issues

http://www.ozhonda.com/forum/showthread.php?t=123712

VT3C
22-12-2009, 10:16 PM
EG's dont need a lot of braking from the rear and you prob dont want to have to buy new rims n tyres (5-lug for ITR) so I'd suggest just getting integra VTiR or GSi rear disc brakes. EG civic VTi or Si have rear discs also and are probably cheaper again - both options will retain your 4x100 stud pattern so you can retain your current wheels.

integra Type R rear brakes will be better still but as mentioned above you'll need new wheels and have to upgrade the fronts also.