PDA

View Full Version : Can you help me with some questions?

Nikita
05-02-2010, 09:27 AM
This is my first post on this forum, so I'll give you a little history on me.

I am a newbie when it comes to performance modifications etc. 16 years ago, I owned an '83 Honda Prelude EX, which I absolutely loved. I am now in the process of buying a 2004 Accord Euro from a non Honda dealer (Mitsubishi dealer but connected with a Honda dealership through their parent company). The car is in great nick with only 63,000KMs on the clock, service books etc.

When I popped the hood I noticed a large silver tube leading into the engine. From what I can gather by reading this forum it looks like a Fujita Cold Air Intake. The salesperson didn't realize this was an after market (at least that is the story he gave me) and it wasn't mentioned in their specs or write up on the car.

I was wondering if anyone on the forum can provide some insights into whether this is a useful mod, well connected mod and whether they can spot any other work done to the engine from the photo?

I am thinking of asking the dealership to pop it over to their Honda Dealership across the road to ensure no other unseen mods have been done to the car.

Thanks in advance!

Pocketz
05-02-2010, 09:39 AM
Looks like the only Mod is the cold air intake, but it hard to say from that photo.

I doubt there would be anything wrong with the car itself as its pretty hard to stuff up a intake mod. I would ask for a cheaper price (use the Mod as leverage & also ask for stock intake) then remove & sell on here for a few $$$

Oh & the sales person would know thats its aftermarket 100% of the time, dont let him use your good will against you.

Nikita
05-02-2010, 09:42 AM
Thanks Poketz!

What do you think the Red "switch" thing is on the left hand side of the engine bay is? Is this standard as well?

Also, isn't the Cold Air Intake supposed to improve the performance and fuel efficiency of the vehicle?

Pocketz
05-02-2010, 09:48 AM