PDA

View Full Version : deciding on a civic?

bambi
04-03-2010, 06:42 PM
i currently own a da9 integra but im looking at moving to an EK civic. now im an apprentice mechanic so i'm not loaded, but i do work for honda so thatll help cut costs as far as repairs and maintenance go.

im looking for something fun and easy to do up and i was looking at the cxi but everyone tells me theyre crap? i'm gonna test drive some soon to see if theyre any good but everyone keeps saying buy the GLi (though to be honest every single one i find for sale is insanely overpriced) and i'd love a VTiR but im not particularly rich. obviously Type R would be the pinnacle but i know its not happening.

so owner's thoughts? is the cxi's drum rear brake all that bad? hows the engine for a fun scale? decent gearbox?

thanks in advance =D

pieee
04-03-2010, 07:09 PM
I recently bought a CXi and I can tell you that the GLi is exactly the same thing, i've tried both and decided that the CXi was the better choice, the rear drum brakes are fine, no problems with them at all, pull the hand brake up when ever you like and they will lock up like discs on my previous cars.

The gear box is nice and smooth, its the best shifting car i've had to date. Its firm and responds exactly the way a gear box should.

As far as i have read and tried the power is the same between the GLi and CXi both 88kw both 144 torque. Just try to stay away from red is all I can say, cause the paint fades to a slight pinky colour over time unless you have a car cover/port or garage to keep it in and out of the sun.

Besides that only negative point its an amazing car :D

dougie_504
04-03-2010, 07:15 PM
I recommend just getting the VTi. You get some nice electrics and 4 wheel disc brakes etc.

Otherwise, what's wrong with the DA9? Nice car...

Raztaz
04-03-2010, 11:53 PM