PDA

View Full Version : Broken power window motor (its stuck)

shebangs
05-03-2010, 09:16 PM
Total noob question. Who fixes these?

It was working fine, then suddenly coming back from gym it dislodged and got stuck going up (went down fine). Now its not really moving. Motor seems to turn on just its out of its rails.

Any rough idea how much I should expect to pay?

Can someone please suggest a place in Brisbane.

Thanks

EK1.6LCIV
06-03-2010, 11:30 AM
anywhere from 80-150 for a second hand motor (450 new from Honda), get a hatch motor they work better than coupes if it's an option at the time, if you can't remove it yourself a panel shop would be the next bet (or autobarn in logan), they would charge at best an hour to fix 60-80 depending on their hourly rate.

remove door card
remove window motor
put in new motor
assemble door card

it'll work fine again, I've had this prob 4 times over my ownership

prices were for ek power motor, can't see it being any less to be honest

markismaximus
06-03-2010, 12:38 PM
I sold a second hand rear motor and rails for $30 for EG sedan a few months ago.
I have a front door motor but its from a sedan. But I highly doubt they are any different as EK1.6LCIV suggests. The rails may be different though

90LAN
06-03-2010, 01:32 PM
just try to put glass back in place 1st then spray some lube on window guides
this will make the window move more esy and mite slide back into place
if this doesnt work then do the latter mentioned above
but i would myself as its not hard if you have common sense
just a few bolts and lining up to do

shebangs
07-03-2010, 04:18 PM
Well, I think my motor works. I think it's just dislodged from it's rails.

Can you just buy the rails without the motor? Maybe I just need a realignment?

EK1.6LCIV
08-03-2010, 08:14 AM
if it's come off the rails, it's rightfully buggered, the only way to sort it out is with a replacement motor piece

paps02
08-03-2010, 09:09 AM