PDA

View Full Version : RWD vs FWD

Chapman2233
07-03-2010, 08:23 AM
Well i am a first year mechanic apprentice, was just wondering about why there was the move to FWD, was it primarily for fuel economy via placing the engine and transaxle in the front, there is no large transmission housing or driveshaft tunnel running through the passenger compartment and the engine being placed in transversely?

Although times change and now RWD is probably the same in fuel economy and most other ways.

Thanks

saikou27
07-03-2010, 09:03 AM
there was a move to fwd for packaging simplicity to make cars cheaper to build and easier to manufacture

aaronng
07-03-2010, 09:39 AM
Cheaper to manufacture, more spacious cabin, easier chassis design, more reliable because of less moving parts, able to make smaller cars and less power loss through the drivetrain.

ajbm
07-03-2010, 09:56 PM
Here's some of the pro's and con's for each transmissions system:

FWD
Advatages
- Increase fuel efficiency, by their reduction in size (weight)
- most engines were positioned transversely to reduce the size of the engine bay
- Commonly with 60% of its weight at the front, 40% at the back, fwd holds an advantage in slippery conditions such as ice or snow as more weight is over the drive wheels reducing slip during acceleration
Disadvatages
- as most of the weight in up front, a fwd car is not as well balanced therefore it doesn't handle quite as well
- as the vehicles power increases, handling of FWD cars becomes a problem
- Torque steer (when the steering wheel pulls to one side during acceleration) is a serious issue with many front wheel drive cars that exceed 250hp

RWD
Advantages
- having the front wheels do the steering, and the rear wheels driving the car, you get a better-balanced vehicle (can eliminate torque steer)
- RWD offers better weight distribution (much closer to 50/50 than fwd), which in turn offers more predictable handling
- also most cars today have the AWD options
Disadvantages