PDA

View Full Version : Universal Muffler

bennet654
26-03-2010, 11:21 AM
Hey guys!
Im new to all this.... I want to buy a universal muffler, but I am not sure of my cars exhaust piping size. Some say that their muffler suits a 2.25" some say 2.5" some say 3"... I own a 2002 HONDA INTEGRA TYPE R (DC5). Can someone inform me of the size on the stock exhaust for my car, so that I can purchase a muffler thats fits properly.

All the best!

hisoka
26-03-2010, 11:34 AM
get the 2.5 inch one and take it to exhaust shop, they will just weld it on.

you could do 3 inch one aswell i guess

bennet654
26-03-2010, 01:11 PM
which one is better for sound to get? the 2.5" or 3"

hisoka
26-03-2010, 06:58 PM
you wont notice the difference, an it matters about piping size and length and material.

if all you got is a muffler, its gonna sound like those corollas that hang at maccas ripping skids with mufflers

illuzi0nz
26-03-2010, 10:55 PM
i was thinking similar things, except i was thinking of getting a universal hks muffler and getting a custom b-pipe. will that still sound shit? lol

45SET
26-03-2010, 11:56 PM
If you are after sound (And not so much performance) go for an off the shelf exhaust made in Japan. The reason they are expensive is because they have had HOURS of time spent in making them, of this time a fair bit would be on the noise the exhuast makes. The noise an exhaust makes can be due to many things
- Material used
- Diameter of pipe
- Length of resonators in the b-pipe
- Style of muffler
- Side of the exhaust tile
The list goes on...

I've heard lots of different exhausts on DC5R's (Personally, The best would have to be the Mugen twin loop). But not only is a universal cannon going to look tacky on your car, it'll most probably sound like a wet fart.