PDA

View Full Version : building a sub box - few questions

michael_antoi
12-12-2004, 06:13 PM
ok well I bought a 12" clarion proaudio series sub and i'm about to build a square enclosure for it.

dimensions for each square piece will be 320x320x18...

it will be a sealed box and the fact sheet i got from the sub indicates the enclosure airspace = 21.85 litres

also F3 = 65 Hz..

are my dimensions ok for this type of sub?

Also, the fact sheet says the mounting hole will be 10.98" so that means I would have to cut the hole to that diameter?

I'm just starting out in car audio so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

HRV-80Y
12-12-2004, 07:57 PM
yesh wateva the recommended volume of the sub enclosure says by manufacturer you should follow evn a lil bigger is better...

wit the diameter of the whole if thats the measure ment they have given u den so it should b cut to that size...

also depends on which kind of sub u have...i.e. open air sub or sub made especially for enclosures...u might need a ported whole...

SIKCVC
12-12-2004, 08:22 PM
that box is a little large for 21 ltrs... its been a long time since i've done subboxes, but those dimentions seem to add up to a 32 ltr box.

PS dont be boring and make a square... no one wants to look at a square. doesn't take much to put a sloped face or elongated box, or even fit it into a corner somewhere so its out of the way.

J-MuN
14-12-2004, 04:35 PM
make sure u have a curve in the box or else all your specs u following will be useless.. :thumbsup:

urtwhistle
14-12-2004, 07:36 PM
yeah u dont want no paralell faces in the box or the sound reflects inside the box and wrecks the sound performance i'm preety sure.

not 100% tho

micka
14-12-2004, 10:34 PM
yeah u dont want no paralell faces in the box or the sound reflects inside the box and wrecks the sound performance i'm preety sure.

not 100% tho