PDA

View Full Version : Metal Intake arm?

mugen_ctr
20-06-2010, 09:53 PM
Does anyone make such item? basically to replace the crappy rubber/plastic rubber pipe...
I don't want to go the route of running a pod filter, as i personally think it create more problem than what it tries to solve...

There's nothing wrong with the air box, so why change whats working....

xenonkuraz
20-06-2010, 10:04 PM
There's nothing wrong with the air box, so why change whats working....

Hey mate...you're exactly right. Why change whats working? The stock intake pipe will keep air temps lower compared to a metal pipe.

mugen_ctr
20-06-2010, 10:26 PM
ah really? hrmmm.... what about in terms of air flow? id assume the stock rubber arm is quite restrictive in terms of flow

TheSaint
20-06-2010, 10:55 PM
get a 45deg or 90deg silcon tube - this will keep temps down and easily fit where the stock intake arm should be

Alvis
21-06-2010, 05:16 AM
i'm no expert on the topic but i'd say if you're talking about restriction it's the actual design of the stock airbox and snorkel which is most restrictive (note however tho the bell-mouth shaped duct leading from the airbox to the intake arm - tests have proven this type of bell-mouth actually reduces pressure so Honda definitely knew what they were doing): pic ur probably familiar with but you can see the bell-mouth shape below:

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/4308/p1030521edit.jpg
By civica (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/civica) at 2010-06-20

Firstly however, the stock intake piping (which starts up, goes down and round and round lol) is not a front facing intake (that would be pressurised by the car's forward movement) which is probably one of the better setups around now and what you see on a lot of the newer cars these days. Secondly, the stock Honda airbox itself is a square box and has a lot of 'hard' edges. It really needs to be 'smooth' to encourage optimum airflow.