PDA

View Full Version : Just bought a Euro 03 | Needs some TLC

kryptonite
08-07-2010, 11:32 PM
Hi All,

I just bought myself a 03 standard 5AT.
Shes got over 133KM on her - bit of wear and tear on it and needs some TLC i guess.
I am a noob when it comes to cars - so excuse the silly questions.

- Wondering what the best way is to get a new steering wheel.
The leather trim (around controls) is protruding out and is rather unsightly.
Also buttons on steering wheel are faded and worn out.

- Recomend a better set of lights as i find the stock isnt quite that bright.
Also the front light 'covers' have a fog like blemish on them that wont go away with any sort of washing. Where would one get a replacement?

- passenger dash box doesnt line up very well, anyone got an easy fix?

any help appreciated.

Krypt.

eurogo
09-07-2010, 09:20 AM
new steering wheel and lights from honda, or lights from a wrecker for cheaper. steering wheel with airbag- dont much around go to the dealer for installation lol

djpro1
09-07-2010, 01:55 PM
new steering wheel and lights from honda, or lights from a wrecker for cheaper. steering wheel with airbag- dont much around go to the dealer for installation lol

Try eBay first for steering wheel and yes definitely try the wreckers first if you wanna save some dough.

As for the lights, I was in the same position as you since those crappy H1 55W bulbs give u crap sight at night. (starting to rhyme here lol)

Anyway, try look for a HID ballast kit (there are a few traders on the forums whom you can get these kits off and they're quite easy install also). Make sure its a H1 type bulb since you're an 03 Std. Luxury take D2S bulbs FYI. You'd be looking at anything around 6K (white colour). Anything above 6K doesn't look as good and blinds all on coming traffic.
When you install them, also make sure to not make any contact with the bulb itself. ie. touching it, getting oil on it etc.. it shortens the life of the bulb dramatically.