PDA

View Full Version : Honda Civic 1.6 VTI Sedan Tune Up question - Noob

fransiscus_aji
26-07-2010, 02:48 PM
Hi All,

I'm just a noob here and in engine. I have a Honda civic 1.6 VTI Sedan - Automatic Gearbox. Recently I've changed my muffler to become magna flow and the sounds is nice. Reason I picked magnaflow is because my muffler is broken and to change to original honda muffler is expensive therefore my mechanic offered me 2nd hand magnaflow which is cheaper. I would like to get more pushback from the engine at the moment only the sounds that is loud but no acceleration at all/no power. Could you please advise me what simple modification that I can do to get more acceleration/power? I'm not really into swapping the engine etc and at the same time i realize that my car is an Auto :( and only 1.6.

Cheers

Tai
26-07-2010, 02:54 PM
You do know having an exhaust sounds gay with Auto.

People will laugh at you if you floor it in front of them

but if you really want to add more power it all depends on your budget.

Go turbo if you dont want to swap engines.

If not get a CAI intake, Strip the car to the max to save weight.

Get lighter wheels, take out A/C and PS to save more weight.

Get Aftermarket Headers and exhaust ( more weight saving )

fransiscus_aji
26-07-2010, 02:57 PM
yes i do understand that. but it's just because it's the cheapest option at that time. I don't mind to change it to normal again but to buy an original exhaust it will cost me ~200 i guess. Is there anything that can be added to the engine naturally?e.g changing the air filter?installing vafc?

Tai
26-07-2010, 03:04 PM
You can do alot to your car, question is, what is your budget?

fransiscus_aji
26-07-2010, 03:09 PM
around 2k?i'm not expecting my car to be superfast!! but at least faster than the standard one. I'm looking forward for ur feedback :)

Tai
26-07-2010, 03:23 PM
You could do the following :

Injen or AEM Cold Air intake: 300-500
Xforce exhaust headers : $400