PDA

View Full Version : Accord VTI vs. Accord Euro 6-cyl. 2009-2010 models

anonymousmoose
04-08-2010, 01:53 PM
Hi all,

I've got my Holden Caprice coming up to end of lease next year. I've been looking at the Honda Accords again.

At the moment, I'm trying to budget about $35,000 for the next car. So I weighing up a few options and Honda seams to be on the list again.

Now, I'm used to a Holden Caprice V8 but I am in no way a speed freak nor do I even drive fast. Saying that, I do like the way the engine carries the big car and the acceleration is seamless.

So I looked at the Honda Accord Euro. The plus for me is that its made in Japan. But in my budget, I would be able to obtain a VTI model (4 cylinder) Luxury (I defiantly want Luxury, not standard). On the other hand, the 'standard' Accord Luxury V6 goes for about $35,000 too. So the dilemma is which one is the better built car? I prefer Japan over Thailand per say but I'm no Honda expert.

I have the Caprice in for insurance work at the moment (just hail dents) and I am driving a rental Toyota Camery. Tell you the turth, the cars 4 cylinder engine just isn't what I would want to drive every day. It accelerates ok but you can tell the engine struggles to move the car. Would the Accord Euro VTI be similar?

Oh, and I should note that when I say $35,000. I'm talking about buying a near-new car, not brand new. I dont mind buying cars a year old with new car warranty left.

A penny for your thoughts?

PS
Another option would be an 06 Lexus is250. I hear they are fantastic cars and not much goes wrong. But I would not have a warranty with an IS250.

Danzvtil
04-08-2010, 10:27 PM
Caprices are ok cars, all the taxi and hire car drivers lament that bits of the interior trim tend to fall off!