PDA

View Full Version : Camshaft Help

EK1 Civic
18-08-2010, 07:17 PM
Hi im new to camshafts and wanna learn a few things about how to tell where a camshaft produces its power ie: low, mid or top end.

This is a link to profiles for my engine http://www.tighecams.com.au/cars.htm Then Honda>Then 16v s.o.h.c. (Directions to get to cam profiles, they don't have a direct link, sorry)

Im wondering how i can tell what cam is for low end and one that's for low-mid power. Basically wanting to know how to identify the purpose of the camshaft specs and where they deliver their power.

Thanks for input in advance

Leon.

dougie_504
18-08-2010, 07:48 PM
I don't know this brand, and if I were you I'd consider Bisimoto for a D-series cam as strong opinion seems to be that this company invests the most time into the D-series.

Whether or not you build the rest of the engine will probably determine what cam shaft you should get.

If you're leaving the engine standard (valves, valve springs, retainers, cam gears, bottom end etc) you might want to consider a 'Stage 1' cam shaft which is normally a straight swap for your stock one and will allow for a small power increase but without compromising normal driveability.

If you're building the engine you could consider Stage 2 (for daily driving) or a higher stage for racing.

Most modifications you do to Hondas (especially on any VTEC engine) will provide you with power gains mostly noticeable in the high-end of your rev-range. If you want low-end power in your SOHC D-series then keep it stock.

EK1 Civic
18-08-2010, 10:44 PM
I'm just wondering if a cam would be a good investment for a boost up to 4k rpms in a d16y4.

EK1 Civic
18-08-2010, 11:05 PM