PDA

View Full Version : Need help with rims

greek_rambos2k
06-09-2010, 12:59 AM
Im going to buy a set of 17" rims (unless you guys think i should get 18"). I have an s2000 ap1 (99 model - stock). i was wondering how wide wheels/tires i can get without rolling guards. im a noob at this so help would be nice. i was thinking 17x7 front and 17x8 at the back? i will eventually put on coilovers. will that effect the size? i have done research on s2ki but im still very confused. help plz

vyets
06-09-2010, 06:50 AM
Hey mate, there's a thread just before yours asking about wheel help.

http://www.ozhonda.com/forum/showthread.php?138720-Bought-New-Wheels-Need-some-Q-s-answered

Don't know what some of the terms mean? Google is your friend.

http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=NWh&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-GB%3Aofficial&q=wheel+offset+guide&aq=f&aqi=g1g-m5&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

Coil-overs are part of your suspension so it won't change your wheel size maybe your thinking of spacers?

And I don't know which thread your reading on s2ki but this is pretty much all you need. There's no real better way to explain it.

http://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=342793

greek_rambos2k
06-09-2010, 11:36 AM
cool thanks. nah i know what coilovers are only thing was i read they will lower the car slightly when i put them on and i didnt know if that will effect rim size

brendan1990
06-09-2010, 05:24 PM
my guards havent been rolled by they rub slightly on the rear when going over large bumps, and my tyres are 245's

vyets
06-09-2010, 07:15 PM
tyre size without rim size and offset is pretty usless :P

When you lower your car you will get natural camber also depending on type of coilovers you get, they wont compress as much as stock suspension making it slightly easier to clear an aggressive stance.

greek_rambos2k
06-09-2010, 10:41 PM
the link to the guide you gave me was good however it says:

For reference, the OEM MY00-03 (AP1) wheel sizes and offsets are as follows: