PDA

View Full Version : 95 Vtir with 200 000 - Should I

Pre95
08-10-2010, 09:46 PM
Hey all Im a noob and im old so would like some help.

Im thinking about buying a 95 vtir with 200000 the guy says the timing belt hasnt been done ( not sure if he ment ever or since he has had it). The body is great as is the interior.
Is 5000 too much for this car.

Just worried about the engin.

How much would I be looking to spend to drop another Vtir in it or maybe get this motor worked on.

Phased
08-10-2010, 11:38 PM
200,000kms isn't much for a Honda engine if it's been maintained properly (especially a Larger Capacity one). However, If the timing belt hasn't been changed... (not THAT big of an issue... although it's not wise) then you would have to question the rest of the vehicles maintenance.

Simple way to check. Get the engine compression tested and looked at buy a trusted mechanic (forget the RACV/State Road inspections, usually they're garbage, only find obvious things). Other things to worry about would be the clutch etc. It's not cheap to get a clutch replaced if you have to pay for labour.

That seems like a fair price if it's in the condition your saying.

It all comes down to the risk you're willing to take. If you don't mind spending money on maintenance or on a replacement engine if it turns out to be run down... Then go ahead... or pay the extra to get one in better condition.

Tai
09-10-2010, 08:50 AM
Mate has a bb4 with over 400,000kms and still going.

As long as they have maintained and serviced it well it should last a lot longer than 200k

Pre95
09-10-2010, 01:34 PM
Just a big thankyou ppl. was very much appreciated.

ThePacman
09-10-2010, 05:52 PM
I've recently done my major service late at 230000. Though oil always gets done every 5000 regardless.
I've dropped a couple of thousand this time making sure everything is just right. I'm now sitting on 240000 and my engine is virtually better than new.