PDA

View Full Version : Car running sluggish/slow

itequilla
22-10-2010, 01:13 PM
All,

im having a problem with my car where when accelerating or trying to gain speed quickly
the car feels slower than usual, it feels as if its misfiring, the car has no from engine leaks,engine oil is topped up and im always running V-power. I have a 1999 Civic Em1,

Has anyone come across this problem and has fixed it?

96VTi-R
22-10-2010, 02:51 PM
I've just recently having this problem with my dc2 vtir, i can feel and hear mine misfiring, sputtering and chokes as it tries to rev up, although it doesn't do it all the time, I'm going to check it out this arvo with my mechanic mate and see if he can sus it out, ill let you know how i go man. My guess is something to do with spark plugs or leads but I'm no mechanic so don't take my word for it lol

dougie_504
22-10-2010, 02:56 PM
Clean your plugs and intake (carby cleaner) firstly

96VTi-R
22-10-2010, 03:41 PM
I just checked the bit in which the spark plugs go and one of mine has a fair bit of water in it, so much that i cant even see the plug, 1 is fine, 2 has a little, 3 has heaps, 4 fine, I'm guessing this is the problem with mine, you should check yours too, its just a matter of taking of the spark plug cover and pulling the leads out and having a look in the tubes.

96VTi-R
22-10-2010, 05:08 PM
I just soaked out all the water that was in the tubes and my car is running fine now man, give that a try, good luck

TheSaint
22-10-2010, 05:22 PM
your rocker cover seals might be dead - you should really replace them with an OEM rocker cover seal + gasket kit

other ways to correct this problem is to clean out the intake with carby/throttle body cleaner (subaru upper engine cleaner ftw), get ur injectors cleaned, run a fuel system cleaner through your car or use a higher grade of fuel
other things known to help with this is to clean the FITV and EGR, get new plugs + leads, clean the contacts in ur dizzy and replace the fuel filter