PDA

View Full Version : Do you REALLY have to strip out the radio to change the fuel filter?

Philip A
17-11-2010, 08:22 PM
I am just studying how to change the fuel filter , and the manual goes into removing the console and the handbrake and to get access to them you have to strip out the centre of the dash. This looks incorrect as if someone did an incorrect link.

When I did a search, someone mentioned removing the passenger seat.

Has anyone changed a fuel filter? if so how did you get access to the top of the tank?

It will save me time to find the correct procedure as to me it seems crazy that you have to remove the centre of the dash to change the fuel filter. The special tool bit is no worry as,I have found that you can undo the big "jam top" by hitting a screwdriver with a hammer against the raised edges . I have done this successfully on my Range Rover.
Regards Philip A

dougie_504
26-11-2010, 10:20 PM
You sure you're not thinking of the fuel pump? I'm no genius on the Jazz but most Hondas have the fuel filter in the engine bay, and I know that Civics from '92 onwards have the fuel pump sorta underneath the passenger seat area.

Philip A
27-11-2010, 08:31 AM
No , many modern cars now have a one way fuel system with the regulator and filter in the fuel pump assembly.
This includes the GD Vti Jazz.
You have to access the top of the fuel tank.
My question relates to whether anyone has changed one and whether you have to remove the centre panel of the dash to access the console to take the handbrake out as suggested by the on line manual.
The manual looks like the link in the instructions is wrong, and I have seen reference to removing a seat on the US Fit forum, but no other reference.
Looks like no one can be bothered to do it>
Regards Philip A

fundies
27-11-2010, 10:42 AM