PDA

View Full Version : EF civic upgrades

nebo run
22-11-2010, 01:45 AM
hey guys, im new to hondas and im keen to learn a bit more about EF and similar civics, specifically setting up for hillclimbing. from what ive read a b16a isnt bolt it, has anyone done it and can share some info on whats required? or is there another better dohc twin cam motor that is an easy conversion? or will i need to find a JDM EF half cut or something. can the stock twin carb motors be made to go half decent? can you use the carby fuel tank with an external pump or do you need to find a jdm efi tank and lines?

can you bolt later model bigger front brakes / disc rear brakes on? or do i need to find JDM EF parts?

there is little info on the web about this, im kinda hoping that its not because no one does it because its too hard and just buys EGs instead.

thanks

nebo run
22-11-2010, 02:28 AM
one of these things

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/660/resized640x480img0205.jpg (http://img24.imageshack.us/i/resized640x480img0205.jpg/)

jdm_b16a
22-11-2010, 04:10 AM
We have a very efficient SEARCH button nebo. If you decide to use it, all your questions will be answered. They've been answered thousands (literally) of times before.

What you have is an ED6 Series 1. Distinguished from the Series 2 easily by the different front indicator lights. The EF was a Japanese Domestic Market model (JDM) which had, amongst other things, different front indicators again, wraparound ones.

Good luck, and this chassis will make a pretty good hillclimber/autocross car - the Yanks use them all the time. Combine a light chassis with a high revving engine like the one you mentioned should be good. My only comment would be you would probably need a bit more low down torque so there's some work to do or look at getting a B18C Type R engine.

Peter

nebo run
22-11-2010, 08:22 AM