PDA

View Full Version : Accord 95 and SRS Light Problem

MIRZ
14-01-2005, 07:38 AM
hi everyone, its my first time on this forum.

i have this accord 95 Exi. about 10 days ago after fillingup fuel tank, started my car and everything went alright except SRS light stayed ON, and its still ON.

decided to make a booking with Honda dealer to check this issue. he told me it will cost $60 to check.

took the car, they tested and told me that its coming up with "CODE 52", and that means its COMPUTER is gone. need a replacement, and that will cost between $800-$1000.

According to Honda Dealer, its normal, and this computer lasts for about 10 years. but only good thing is that he did not charge me $60 inspection fee.

I am very disapointed, i never heared that Honda Computer has 10 years life, and it will cost me this much. not reayd to spend $1000 on this, which is not my fault, actualy i would say it should be considered as Honda's manufacturing fault.

i checked on net and found a way to reset this SRS light. tried that, worked, but after that double blink (means reset successful) , SRS light comes back again.

would you guys please suggest, what should i do, thanks a bunch in advance.

simpdogg
14-01-2005, 09:35 AM
get it fixed. by the way excellant choice of car you gonna do any mods?

poid
14-01-2005, 09:59 AM
i assume its the ABS computer thats stuffed?

Not a lot else you can do except change it, unless that SRS light doesnt annoy you ;)

EuroAccord13
14-01-2005, 10:00 AM
For that amount of money... Might as well get a full replacement performance ECU perhaps?

MIRZ
14-01-2005, 10:13 AM
SRS light does not annoy me, may be cheaper idea will be to get rid of SRS globe from display ;)

poid
14-01-2005, 10:51 AM
yeh you could do that, taking the dash apart is annoying though :)

Dominik
14-01-2005, 11:52 AM
Does the ABS still work? (you can check this on gravel or when its wet - or if you are game you can try it on dry road...).