PDA

View Full Version : My new audio set up

catacaustic
30-12-2010, 10:19 PM
Well, after a few months of planning, buying and actually finding the itme to do the work, I finally have my audio system installed!

I've gone for sound quality over pressure levels as I'm very much on the wrong side of 20, and in all seriousness, you won't ever get a SPL winning system in a S2000, so there's no point in bothering.

i've included pics of the boot, because that's the only place that you can see anything different. The head unit is hidden by the standard factory radio door, and the speakers fit behind the standard door trims without any mods.

What I have... Well, I did go for quality, so please, no flames for "you could go louder if you had _____". Loud is good, but when you have to suffer through speakers distorting it ruins the experience. For me at least. As a daily driver, I wouldn't want anything that I couldn't listen to all day every day.

Equipment list:

Alpine X-305 I do love Alpine for head units. I haven't seen anything affordable that comes close, and I wanted something good that had iPod/iPhone integration, so this was a natural choice.

Modifry pulg-and-play harness. Seriously, if you don't have this, then you are a LOOSER. This is pretty much the best ever accessory for a new head unit in a S2000. They do a lot more then just Alpine, and as they say on the sire, every unit is tested before leaving the "factory". I've also bought the GPS (and more) mounting bracket from there, and everything's always been simple and easy. Can't say enough good about that place.

Amps... I had the amps match the speakers. Both are Rockford Fosgate. I have a T-600.2 and a T1500-1bdCP. I bought these from my last amp. I have had a very old-school (now) Rockford amp that's lasted close to 15 years now without a problem, and the two new ones that I got just thump! When I get everything settled in and get the gaines turned up properly it will be huge!