PDA

View Full Version : Insurance ratings

charliebrown
21-01-2011, 10:37 AM
Me and my dad's recently switched to AAMI. He's the primary driver and i'm the "additional regular driver". Paying $1300 pa. If i was to go as the primary driver it would be $2500 pa.

My question is: does my rating go down every year as i'm a regular driver although not the primary? I'm hoping it does so that in a few years my premium will drop and i can move off into my own policy. I can't find any information about this on the aami website or google.

Thanks

geeang
21-01-2011, 11:34 AM
Your insurance policy is for your dad, you are covered but it does not mean you're holding an insurance policy.

So no, there is no impact on your rating. The only change that will happen in a few years is you'll get older, which generally makes insurance cheaper anyway (depending how old you are now).

charliebrown
21-01-2011, 11:43 AM
Fahhh... i want my rating to drop as quickly as possible but i just can't afford to fork out 3000 a year for my own policy. I'm 18, sports car, high risk suburb, park in driveway etc. it couldn't get any worse than that.

There's no way they can refuse to payout right? Since i'm down as a regular driver. I will be driving the car nearly every day so it was just too big a risk to not have my name on the policy as they can easily find out that i'm more than an 'occasional driver'

Mikecivic78
21-01-2011, 12:49 PM
WTF, your old man is paying 1300 for a dc4? Does he have history ( drunk driving/loss of licence etc...) ??? He's paying way too much.

I pay 700 for an EM1 and I've had bad behaviour in the past.

m3ntAL_l2
21-01-2011, 12:51 PM
nop, integras have a very high insurance rate, my dc2 cost $1k+ for comp while my 2005 mini cooper is only $600

charliebrown
21-01-2011, 05:23 PM