PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Used Car from a Dealership [First Car Purchase]

burtonguster
17-02-2011, 12:21 AM
As indicated in the title, I've had no experience in purchasing cars.

Do I need to get a pre-purchase inspection on a car from a dealership?

Assuming yes.
Say that I am going to arrange a pre-purchase inspection. How does it work? What happens?
Do I arrange the inspection with the dealership prior, OR can I just show up and meet the inspector and go from there?

Or because it's from a dealership, is it "safe" to assume that the car would have had some form of regulated inspection to even been eligible to be sold on the lot... If that makes sense.

:o

Vtec8U :D
21-02-2011, 05:16 PM
i personally wouldnt but from a dealership....they ask for prices way to high for most cars. Yes they would/should do an inspection however if it looks like a dodgy dealership they would probably just change the oil and put it in the lot. just make sure you give the car a good look over before buying and dont belive what ever the salesman says....

My 2 cents

BTW do a quick search next time before posting, 99% chance this has already been covered

Nismo3oi
21-02-2011, 05:54 PM
Better if you search for the car yourself? E.g Carsales. Take a look at it yourself and get it inspected by NRMA or something. Also do a REVS check and RTA vehicles check.

http://www.mynrma.com.au/motoring/buy-sell/buying-advice/vehicle-inspection.htm

https://online.revs.nsw.gov.au/revs/public.htm

https://myrta.com/VehicleHistoryCheck/

dougie_504
21-02-2011, 09:55 PM
Don't buy from a dealership. The huge amount of money you will save on buying privately will probably cover any future problems lol. Inspections are important for private purchase.

Otherwise, if you must, make sure they give you a warranty.

michaelz
21-02-2011, 10:51 PM
yes usually buying from a dealer means you're overcharged but at least post up what model, trans, mileage and how much.

Uproar
22-02-2011, 07:02 AM