PDA

View Full Version : Suspension questions - coilovers

DBG
26-02-2011, 02:56 PM
Hey guys, not sure if this belongs in the suspension thread, but I am after S2000 specific advice.

I am brand new to the Honda scene having owned all peugeots (pretty much all modified) and a lotus Elise 111r previously. Unfortunately the lotus had to make way for house so S2000 seemed to be the next best thing in my price range!

I have always lowered cars with shocks and springs (Eibach, H&R, koni, bilstein), mostly because coilovers are not always available for euro cars.

I am looking to lower my car (1999 AP1) about 35-40mm and retain a reasonable ride (I understand lowering rarely retains a standard ride) as the car will be my daily, but I would also like suspension that will perform well for weekend spirited drives and the occasional track day.

I have given myself a budget of about 1200 as I bought the car in the interests of saving cash!! After a heap of research (mostly on s2ki) I have come up with the following options:

Bilstein PSS coilovers (1200 shipped from tireack) lower 35mm max which is not quite as low as I wanted, but I have had previous good experiences with the brand.
Koni shocks and King springs - provide the right lowering amount and will cost about 900 all up (shocks from tireack)
DGR coilovers - new brand, couple of positive comments on s2ki and lower basically to any height. I believe these would set me back a bit less than the bilstein.

So I guess, what are peoples thoughts? Go with a brand I have never heard of, or get Bilsteins and accept that they won't lower as much as I want? Has anyone had experience with koni and kings?

Thanks heaps in advance for your advice.

Ben

ncmx5
26-02-2011, 04:10 PM
Of the three, I would go with the pss coilovers. Why not consider other brands like Buddy Club N+ or something? - They're like $900USD + $250-300 for shipping.

Lowering it 40mm, is pretty epic low. if you don't mind scraping, go for it.

aozora