PDA

View Full Version : engine advice needed.....

b16bomber
08-07-2011, 10:42 PM
hi ppl

im only new to the world of honda, so im wanting some advice on engine choice for a conversion. the conversion im sad to say will not be going into a honda shell as such. im looking at using a D16 of some sort mainly cuz of financial reasons as i dont believe that doing a B16/B18 is within reach at this point in time.

my question is what D16 engine would you guys, that know ur stuff, recommend. ie. best performing, reliable and value for money ??????

also where is the best place to source one????

thanks.

dougie_504
09-07-2011, 01:48 PM
D16Y1 IMO. Best value for $. OBD1. Wrecker or this forum is a good place to look.

b16bomber
09-07-2011, 08:43 PM
can you pls tell me why the D16Y1 model in ur opinion is ur pick of the models ?????? does this model have V-TEC ????

thanks

Fredoops
09-07-2011, 10:21 PM
D16Y1

Found in :
1992–1995 Honda Civic VTi (AUS)
Displacement : 1,590 cc (97 cu in)
Bore and Stroke : 75 × 90 mm (3.0 × 3.5 in)
Compression : 9.3:1
Power : 129 hp (96.2 kW, 131 ps) at 6,600 rpm
Torque : 107 ft·lbf (14.8 kg/m, 145 Nm) at 5,200 rpm
Redline : 7,200 rpm
Valvetrain : SOHC VTEC (4 valves per cylinder)
VTEC Switchover : 5,000 rpm
Fuel Control : OBD-1 MPFI
Head Code : P08
ECU Code : P28

that should help.

hmetro24
09-07-2011, 10:27 PM
D16a8 is dohc non vtec from SI model
d16y1 is sohc Vtec from vti model
Both this 2 engine give almost same power

GSi_PSi
10-07-2011, 02:01 AM
D16A8, basically a b16 with Vtec not working

owens14
10-07-2011, 07:54 AM
I think the d16y1 is a great lil engine. I have one in my eg and done a fair few mods like skunk2 manifold hondata gasket port and polish extractors etc and the engine had some balls.

Jccck
10-07-2011, 11:02 AM
D16A8, basically a b16 with Vtec not working

Not really, the D16A8 is actually a better engine to build because of it.. I'd choose it tbh.

GSi_PSi
10-07-2011, 12:14 PM