PDA

View Full Version : Quick question about d15b engines :]

EgFanatic
15-07-2011, 10:20 PM
Hi guys, i have recently picked up another civic as a project car the engine its currently got is a d15b sohc. At the wreckers there is another civic with a d15b vtec head i was thinking could i swap the heads and gain vtec? and also the car is auto so the gearbox on the car at the wreckers is an s20 gear box as i was told that this is an lsd gearbox? what would i need for the manual and vtec head conversion? i was just wondering if the heads would be compatable.

Thanks guys :]

dougie_504
16-07-2011, 12:08 AM
Yeah you can swap them, I think they call this the 'MiniMe VTEC conversion'. S20 isn't an LSD box as far as I know, only some JDM D15's came with an OEM LSD.

You'll need to do some wiring work and other crap but I'm no expert. I wouldn't recommend the swap TBH. For the effort you're going to you may as well pick up an OBD1 B16A. At least then you'd notice the difference. Otherwise if you're on a budget just grab a D16Y1, better engine, cheap, another 100cc +/-, has VTEC etc.

Sorry if that's not the encouraging answer you wanted, just my opinion. I have a Y1 SOHC VTEC and B16A DOHC VTEC. World of difference.

chowdaa
17-07-2011, 12:41 AM