PDA

View Full Version : Building a Civic

eddyR
01-08-2011, 08:57 PM
So after having my eye on a few cars and seeing them sold before I got my money, I've been thinking about building my own.

Admittedly, I do not have much know how on the technical side of things (as much as I wish I did), but certainly love cars and Honda's enough to see it through.

Anyhow, just a thought for the time being, but wanted to know a couple things:

1. I've had a look at engines in the US and they appear to be a decent amount cheaper than local ones. Of course there is the factor of shipping, but is there anything stopping me from bringing one in?

2. Several sources vary, so from past experience, what would labour costs be for swapping a B18CR into a EFI D series shell for example, assuming they did most of the work due to my lack of knowledge for the time being.

3. Lastly, are many of you self taught in regards to the mechanical side of things? Pretty keen to do that myself.

Any other words of wisdom would be great!

Thanks guys!

trism
01-08-2011, 09:30 PM
1. Nothing to stop you, however, by the time you factor in freight, it works out to be about the same

2. It all depends on who does it, what needs to be done, if it is a swap from carby to injected etc. If you doany of teh work yourself. But if you palm it all off, then youd be looking at a few grand

3. Correct. by reading up, researching, using the internet to your advantage.

amant02
02-08-2011, 12:48 AM
If i was spending that much on a civic i wouldnt do it myself, spending 4grand on a car thats only worth 3grand seem unlogical to me. But i wanted to go down a motor swap when I was younger, I would reccomend save all that money and try to knock prices down on type R's they are fairly cheap these days. Eg's and ek's are getting too old, i think even my em1 is waay too old.

Each to their own, just my 2cents.

jdm_b16a
02-08-2011, 04:54 AM