PDA

View Full Version : gearbox noise help !

x3cindymichael
13-12-2011, 11:41 PM
hey guys got a 94 honda civic with jdm b16a conversion (manual)

cars been making noises for a while (month or so) but has been getting worse recently. Sounds seem to be coming from the gearbox ..its a whining noise its there a idol and when i'm driving (but can't really hear over exhaust) hear it when gearing down.. and at lights etc etc... seems to getting louder. I'm a noob and my guess is that i need trans fluid ? what do you guys reckon? any help appreciated.

cheers (:

mugen_ctr
14-12-2011, 12:53 AM
change the fluids and see what happens...

Worse comes to worse, the bearings inside the Gb are shot, which means u might need to tear down the gb and do a rebuild on it...

rebuild prices vary places to places and also depending on what needs to be replace also factor the costs of the rebuild... but generally speaking most rebuilds can cost anywhere of 700 - 1500 or more

mocchi
14-12-2011, 08:09 AM
change the fluids and see what happens...

Worse comes to worse, the bearings inside the Gb are shot, which means u might need to tear down the gb and do a rebuild on it...

rebuild prices vary places to places and also depending on what needs to be replace also factor the costs of the rebuild... but generally speaking most rebuilds can cost anywhere of 700 - 1500 or more

i wouldnt think rebuild and changing gbox bearings are the same.
i only use the term rebuild when all synchros on all gears, shift forks, main/countershaft, thrust clearance are checked within service limit and replaced if theyre replaceable.

rebuilt gearbox would include all bearing replacement.

x3cindymichael
14-12-2011, 09:44 AM
Ok thanks guys will change fluids today and see what happens :)

mugen_ctr
14-12-2011, 10:43 AM
i wouldnt think rebuild and changing gbox bearings are the same.