PDA

View Full Version : Sound system stock head unit

sab0r
16-03-2012, 07:11 PM
I have an 07 gd3. I had a system professionally installed but I now need the boot space.

Just curiou. I had tweeters installed at same time. If I take out the after market head unit and put my stok one back in; can I keep the tweeters?

GU357
16-03-2012, 07:34 PM
hmm unless the tweeter are running seperate wires from the HeadUnit, i would guess the tweeters can stay.
good luck with changing it back to OEM.
takes a few goes to get good at.

but im no expert on stereos ahaha.

ouch
17-03-2012, 09:35 AM
depends if your crossovers are connected to the amp or headunit. (and where did you get your tweeters installed? i had to drill a hole in my door)

if your speakers are connected to your amp, you gotta rewire your lines back up to the stock wiring. This being said, you would probably have to share the power and you wont get the same power from an external source.

hows your system set up now? so i can get a better idea.

sab0r
17-03-2012, 07:29 PM
Mmm. I'm not w big audio guy so don't really know much.
I've got after market speakers all round as well as tweeters drilled into door

Ivemgot two amps and a sub. So assuming th speakers are all powered by the amp

GU357
17-03-2012, 07:50 PM
if the amp is powering the speakers i doubt it the stock HU will be compatible.

The Amp requires signal from the HU to tell it to turn on.
The Remote cable is connected at the HU and amp, it gives the commands to turn on, other wise the amp would drain the battery if its on all the time.

The Stock HU wouldn't have a Remote cable, or at least its very unlikely.

If the amp wont be able to run with the stock HU so there goes any speakers connected to the amp and any subwoofers.

fillit
17-03-2012, 11:02 PM
it's unlikely that the tweeters will be connected to the amp, well it's almost impossible, amp is to power your sub.

your speaking will be powered by the headunit.