PDA

View Full Version : 2003 jazz vti misfire?

Nighthawk jazz
15-07-2012, 11:51 PM
Howdy all,

I'm new to Ozhonda - great site, seems like there's plenty of jazz knowledge here and I hope you guys can help me out.

My 2003 jazz vti with 125000k's has developed an annoying misfire. It seems to occur under light acceleration and occasionally at idle when the ac is on. It is an intermittent problem.

I've spent some time surfing the web and have eliminated it down to coil packs. I don't want to pay honda$$$$ for the packs but if ordering online want to make sure I get the right part.

Has anyone else experienced a similar problem and fixed it with non Honda coil packs?
If so could you please post details of where coil packs were purchased and prices.

So far I have found some at Rockauto.com but they are for 2007 fit 1.5l L4. Will these be suitable for a 2003 Jazz 1.5l?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Nighthawk

Artie
16-07-2012, 12:46 PM
Is your Jazz an automatic (CVT)?

Nighthawk jazz
16-07-2012, 03:32 PM
Yep. 2003 1.5l vti with cvt

ouch
16-07-2012, 03:59 PM
what does misfiring mean?

Artie
16-07-2012, 04:05 PM
Yep. 2003 1.5l vti with cvt

Just wondering if your problem could be related to a CVT issue rather than coil pack? As ouch asks, what are the misfire symptoms and how did you do the diagnosis?

Nighthawk jazz
16-07-2012, 04:49 PM
My initial diagnosis is based on feel. Have ordered an obd2 reader to confirm, and check fault codes. It feels as though one cylinder is intermittently not firing. The miss seems only to occur when gently accelerating @ around 2000rpm, and also when stopped at the lights with the A/C on. I have had trans shudder in the past and this feels completely different. Trans has been flushed and refilled with genuine Honda cvt fluid and has been perfect since this was done, around 25000 km ago.