PDA

View Full Version : trading my 180sx for an integra advise pls

mattpj
31-12-2003, 02:32 AM
Hi All,
Im a newbie to Hondas . My current ride is a 92 180SX which I have had for 5 years.
Im looking at getting something that is cheaper to run and insure so I was thinking about an integra.
I dont know alot about these cars but Im guessing the gsi is just you run of the mill 1.8 and the vti-r is the vtec version.
What difference is the type R ?
Also from reading the other forums I have seen that some vtec motors are only SOHC is the integra DOCH vtec ?
Im looking at getting between a 95- 98 , dont want to spend any more than 20Gs .
Or is it better to get a VTI civic
What is the reliability like with these engines , as I will most likely get something that has anywhere from 40-80K on the clock , is there anything special to look out for ?
Its going to be hard getting used to a non turbo front wheel drive car but as I said before , the 180 does cost alot to run and insure

Sorry for the long post

Cheers

Matt

tofu R
31-12-2003, 08:51 AM
hey there matt ...

first of all civic or integra? the VTi that you mentioned only comes in sedan form .. and has a SOHC engine with no more power than the GLi engine but a few more nm of torque. I think if u want performance .. u should steer clear of the SOHC variants in the honda range .. as the true performance of honda is from a DOHC vtec engine.

Having said that . a few engines have that the B16A and the B18C ..
The b16a comes in a few honda vehicles .. crx,the first integras, and civic .. but in the case for this engine u should be looking for a B16A2.. which is the latest and greatest in the evolution of this engine .. which comes in the later civic VTiR hatchbacks and coupes.. im not too sure about pricing .. but i think that the coupe will be selling for a little more than 20Gs .. which is not worth IMO
hatch looks sexier =p