PDA

View Full Version : My car wont start, why not?(K-series)

Andy
22-04-2013, 04:07 AM
First of all keep in mind I'm a complete newb and that I've never done internal work on my car before..lol. Ok, so today I decided to replace my intake cam gear with a 50VTC cam gear on my K24 motor. Here is how I did it:

1. I took the rocker cover off and set the TDC for the Cam gears and marked the chain(however I didnt for the crank pulley, I followed skunk2's 15 minute cam install, they didn't specify this, so i thought it wasn't needed...)

2.Took the tensioner cover off and placed a pin inside the timing chain tensioner...

3. Next I unbolted took out the cam holders

**here is where my problems started... at some point the pin inside the timing chain tensioner fell out(obviously I was unaware). As I attempted to take out the intake cam gear I noticed that there was absolutely no slack, however I have never done any internal work on my car before so I thought this was normal(I thought wrong). Anyhow I proceeded take out the intake camshaft and cam gear(whilst having a helper hold tension on the chain). I bolted the 50VTC cam gear onto the camshaft and noticed it would simply not sit back into place on the head due to the fact the chain was waay to tight and had no slack. At this point I checked the timing chain tensioner and found that the pin had fallen out(I died a little inside). So I continued on and took out the timing chain tensioner and there was now enough slack to put my camshaft and gear in place and so I did. I made sure to align the cam gear with the mark I had made on the chain(I'm not going to lie; I did move the crank forwards and backwards, due to frustration in attempt to get the cam gears to align, and were flush ...keep in mind I'm a newb)

4. Bolted and torqued up the cam holders 16lb-ft(following http://www.k-series.com/attachment.p...5&d=1293149008)

5. Put timing chain tensioner back in, put the cover over it with some rtv