PDA

View Full Version : FN2 muffler taken out and loss of power?

BloodSugar
23-11-2013, 08:48 AM
Hi everyone, I am a newbie here and I need help.
I just took the rear muffler off my stock FN2 and welded a straight pipe to the back. I kept the dual exhaust and resonators just before the tips. However, in case I change mind in the future, I purposely left some space for a rear muffler by welding a curved pipe (very short, probably around the size of a palm in S shape) to the straight pipe. This is a cheap alternative for those who wants a deep and louder sound without changing the whole cat back. ( There are some great premade out there such as Milltek, Martelius and the big brands.)

Now the problem starts, I notice I have lost some torque (maybe power too) at low RPMs. But I imagined with a less restrictive piping in contrast to a muffler, the air flow should be more free. I do not know why the loss of power happens. I did not do a dyno before or after, this is just me feeling the car is less powerful than before. I did research and did understand with a setup like this, back pressure and exhaust air stream velocity are the keys. And I know the myth that engine will lose torque if there is no back pressure is a false statement.

So here is my question, does anyone know that a "S" shape pipe will possibly create more back pressure? Or, is the setup I use potentially reduced the stream velocity? Or, for a laugh, maybe I noticed wrongly about the power loss? LOL

Please share your experience as it is frustrating for me. Thankssss:)

androo
23-11-2013, 11:08 AM
I think it's in your head

u mad?
23-11-2013, 11:15 AM
No not in your head, i did the same thing with my k20 at one stage, just wanted that loud sound, turned into a pile of piss down low, had to mash it to get power. It 'felt' a tiny bit better from 6500rpm on wards, though that may have been placebo effect, cuzz it was loud as fuk!

Now, if you had your tune played with you may get more power out of it.