PDA

View Full Version : warning lights on dash. ECU fault? help.....

virgoz
27-02-2014, 11:58 AM
Hi guys,

sorry, noob here.

My wife has an '05 Euro Luxury. when driving now, the dash warning lights (ABS, Brake, VSA, etc) come up and stay on. Sometimes only after 10 min of driving, but the car still continues to handle normally. Then the Engine warning light comes on and the car starts running bad and "surging" when stopped at the lights and idling.
Any ideas?
Is the ECU knackered? (where on earth is it???) . Got a Honda mechanic telling me he can replace it for $3000. That scares the hell out of me.
thx
Tim26459

Jasemas
27-02-2014, 12:37 PM
Don't take it to Honda
Go see Josh @ Sleeping performance
He owns a garage south east of melbourne and can help you with your car

axispower
27-02-2014, 07:22 PM
Jesus Christ. Yeah I've heard good things about Josh @ Sleeping Performance. He is a user on here as well - 'stndrd' or something is his name.

virgoz
28-02-2014, 08:33 AM
thnx guys. will look him up. no way im going back to a dealership again.

btw, where the heck is the ecu located anyway???

axispower
28-02-2014, 08:55 AM
I will find out this afternoon when I see my mechanic. I need to find out where it is anyway as well because I'm getting it reflashed next week.

virgoz
28-02-2014, 09:13 AM
thx man! may be exactly what i need...

Jasemas
28-02-2014, 10:22 AM
Most likely behind/under the glove box

noobies
28-02-2014, 12:57 PM
The ECU is located under the centre console compartment area.

Access is via the plastic panel in sides of footwell.

Here's a guide:
http://www.hondata.com/tsx_ecu_removal.html

Just a note that's the American TSX so the ECU placement is flipped
Meaning the plugs "side" of our ECU is on the passenger side footwell etc.

Fredoops
28-02-2014, 01:30 PM
dont thing thats an ECU/Engine problem..... cause if it is you should be getting the CEL not the ABS/brake lights

do a code read, probably the braking system has issue somewhere

virgoz