PDA

View Full Version : B16A2 max rpm?

kraiye
20-03-2014, 10:58 AM
Am running shot peinned stock crank and rods with ctr pistons. My tuner is part way through and asked if I wanted to bump the max rpm up because it's still making power at 8800.
I'm sure the head (skunk2 pro goodies) could handle it but would it be wise to not mess with the limiter?

cbauto
20-03-2014, 11:45 AM
I have no experience but considering b16 have such a short stroke and croobra with tight r motor, b18c7 long stroke and still rev to 11.5k rpm

If you have unlimited budget, just Yolo and go for 12.5k rpm

If money is tight, stick to whatever the motor builder recommend. Personally I would go to 9k rpm if you have supporting head job mods

kraiye
20-03-2014, 07:47 PM
cheers :)
played it safe, left it at 8.8 and made 170hp atw :D

Hondarally
21-03-2014, 07:19 AM
Sweet - good numbers.

I remember at a track day some guy came over and started talking Hondas. He seemed to know his stuff (although could have been a keyboard hero for all I knew). He said that the stock B16's are safe up to 8700 - 8800 and will live at those revs all day, but above that you need to start upgrading, or you will have problems. I don't know how much truth is in that (I'm no Honda expert) but mine is set at 8700 anyway, so I'm happy to leave it there.

Tai
21-03-2014, 11:15 AM
Seriously?!!?!

You give him an opinion and tell him that opinion may not be true.

WTF?! seriously GTFO !

Sweet - good numbers.

I remember at a track day some guy came over and started talking Hondas. He seemed to know his stuff (although could have been a keyboard hero for all I knew). He said that the stock B16's are safe up to 8700 - 8800 and will live at those revs all day, but above that you need to start upgrading, or you will have problems. I don't know how much truth is in that (I'm no Honda expert) but mine is set at 8700 anyway, so I'm happy to leave it there.

Hondarally
21-03-2014, 11:47 AM