PDA

View Full Version : 1st Gen Civic - Conversion Options

benigno
12-04-2005, 09:35 AM
G'day,

I have just purchased a 1977 Civic and have been looking at some conversion options. At first I was looking at the B-series engines and they looked like a pretty good option for what I wanted. However, today I was offered a JDM Spec H22a for a very good price, only drama is ive never seen/heard of this conversion being done before as I have never really been into honda's up until now.

I have a lot of mechanical knowledge and hands on experience, done many conversions before including, sr20's into 180sx's, 12a rotaries into a 1977 mazda 323 and a 1977 mazda 808 etc etc.

Basically my only worry was that the h22a would be physically too large. I realise custom mounts etc. will have to be fabricated and engineered and I'm in no way kidding myself, I know itll be huge job but I can get the engine for the right price so I thought I might as well ask the question.

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
James

EG5
12-04-2005, 10:05 AM
h22a would be to big for it.
do b series swap with custom mounts

JDM.Power
12-04-2005, 10:15 AM

Chi
12-04-2005, 10:17 AM

McChook
12-04-2005, 10:24 AM
I am going to suggest an alternative option - B series is my fave one posted, but....

There is a guy named Angus Button, with a gen 1 civic, with a turbocharged standard engine - well, the engine is not standard any more, but I'd suggest you atleast speak to Angus or Dyno Dave about your options

heist
12-04-2005, 10:26 AM

benigno
12-04-2005, 10:34 AM
Yeah I figured itd be too big... just got excited :P

I am going to suggest an alternative option - B series is my fave one posted, but....

There is a guy named Angus Button, with a gen 1 civic, with a turbocharged standard engine - well, the engine is not standard any more, but I'd suggest you atleast speak to Angus or Dyno Dave about your options