PDA

View Full Version : D16Y1 No Vtec engage

Statik91
17-02-2015, 09:39 AM
Hi all, I'm new to the honda type engines however i have noticed VTEC doesnt engage at all. just wondering what checks i can do and what sensors notify the ECU to engage VTEC.

I tried searching but couldn't find anything.

RenzokukenJ
17-02-2015, 12:03 PM
Are you sure you have vtec in the first place?
Check oil first off, make sure you have enough

grifty
17-02-2015, 03:50 PM
are you sure it isnt engaging? hook up a light to the solenoid and take it for a spin, the D16Y1 is very quiet

Statik91
17-02-2015, 06:13 PM
Yeah I'm sure it has vtec, I have a cold air intake and I cannot hear it kick in and can't feel it, also doesn't have a change in rpm just seems to rev out like normal.

RenzokukenJ
17-02-2015, 06:22 PM
Could be low on oil, also check your vtec solenoid that it's in ok

ECU-MAN
17-02-2015, 06:23 PM
Do the test light test to start with, this way you know if your ECU is trying to engage VTS

Do you have a P28 ? is it stock ?

Ensure your engine temperature is at optimal temp,
Ensure your VSS is working.
Ensure your oil level is correct

Statik91
17-02-2015, 06:42 PM
There is no power at te solenoid, oil level is correct and its stock with stock tune and ecu, pretty sure it's a p28, engine temp is normal when testing and vss seems to be working correctly. The sump isn't dent d or anything stupid like that as I have heard that it can cause an issue. I used to get code 22 and have replaced the vtec oil pressure switch and now no codes.

Statik91
17-02-2015, 06:48 PM
Solenoid seems to work, it clicks when I add power to it straight from battery

ECU-MAN
17-02-2015, 07:44 PM
confirm the ECU type.

sounds like the ECU does not want to engage VTS..

when you tested how was your test light wired ?

did you go over 30kph ?

did you apply more that half throttle?

how long had the engine been warm ?

grifty
17-02-2015, 08:31 PM