PDA

View Full Version : [Euro] Tyres - Anyone tried these on their euro?

V205
03-07-2005, 07:51 PM
http://www.marangoni.com/content.asp?L=3&idMen=146

It's either that or the Yokohama AD07 (not yet aus approved?) for me...

yfin
03-07-2005, 08:14 PM
http://www.marangoni.com/content.asp?L=3&idMen=146

It's either that or the Yokohama AD07 (not yet aus approved?) for me...

I doubt anyone will have tried these - let alone heard of them!

I am also moving away from directional tyres like these. I used to have directional Falken 512 tyres. The Dunlop 3000As I have now are asymetric. The benefit of an asymmetric tyre is more groves on the inner side giving better grip on wet roads. The difference is like night and day. No - I am not a tyre expert and can only tell you my experiences.

With the directional Falken - even when new the traction control would work very hard on the Euro. Lets take 1st gear as an example. Full throttle and tractional control would work its way all the way to redline. Cutting in and out - in and out. With the Dunlops - the traction control only kicks in at around 3000rpm and then for only a fraction of a second.

I can't get traction control to kick in second gear either - even around corners. Go asymmetric - you will not regret it.

I am sold on asymmetric tyres now for the Euro.

V205
03-07-2005, 09:20 PM
Maybe that particular directional tyre from Falken is not suited for an Euro?

The best feeling (steering response, cornering stability, straight line stability) tyres I have personally driven on is Yokohama A509 on a Honda Prelude. I had also tried Dunlop FM901 on the same Prelude, it was so bad that I had to change it back to A509 after a few days. I would have to say that setup was better than my S15 200SX with Yokohama ES100.

From what I can see, the A509 has a square contact patch as oppose to slightly rounded'ness of the ES100.

The Zeta Linea looks to be pretty square too... and same with AD07.

coladuna
03-07-2005, 10:42 PM