PDA

View Full Version : Beefing up the GSI

imminent_
06-02-2004, 12:37 PM
I recently got myself a '97 auto GSI.. and i don't want anything stupid, but i would like to make it go that lil bit quicker.

there's another thread about this, but i'm not technical in terms of bits n pieces.. so i had nfi what you guys were on about :P

I don't want to throw too much money at it - like getting a turbo, because being an auto, it's realistically a waste of time. But if i can put in a few little things that'd make it special..

For instance, i presume an exhaust'll free up a few extra kw's? (how noticeable though?) What about those powerchip gadgets they advertise? Or extractors, different tyres (running shit $70 yoko-somethings atm) .. hell, i don't even know half of it.

Anyway, if someones got an idea on an item, what it does and a rough cost.. it'd be very much appreciated. (or should i just dump it in a years time and do the VTIR thing?)

vti-2
06-02-2004, 12:41 PM
I/H/E = Intake (pod filter), Headers (extractors) and Exhaust system.

That is the best mod you could possibly do performance wise, the car will sound good and will definitely benefit powerwise from the mods.

Let us know where you are from as some guys might want to suggest workshops etc.

Good luck and welcome to Ozhonda.

imminent_
06-02-2004, 12:46 PM
Thanks :) still getting my avatar and everything up and running. I'm in Melbourne..

i've heard about the pod filters.. what do they do? And what do extractors do? Scuse the noob questions .. heh

vti-2
06-02-2004, 12:53 PM
Aftermarket pod filters help the engine breath better. You can actually get panel filters as well but DC2 Teg's have pod style filters. On a GSi you will definitely gain a few kw's but on a VTi-R for example people generally install pods for the induction sound.

Extractors help the engine breath better too. Aftermarket headers are generally bigger than the factory ones and flow better therefore giving you extra power.